Hair Loss

 

My biggest issue with Gastroparesis has been hair loss.  Okay, besides the: nausea, pain, bowel issues, toliet hugging and not knowing what to eat/drink. 

In my limited medical knowledge (mother is a retired RN) I knew that my now lack of nutrition was causing some of the hair loss.  I knew (and experienced) hair loss during hormone changes.  I also knew that an abrupt diet change can also trigger hair loss, not to mention stress. 

But months went by and I was still having large amounts of hair fall out.  I was afraid to brush it and shower.  There were first fulls and I would clog the drain.   I was literally scared!  

ImageOne day I decided to take Omega 3-6-9 and within about 7 days, I was doing much better, the more I continued on the supplement, the better my hair got.  I ran out and decided not to buy another bottle.  Soon the hair loss started again, prompting me to run to the store for another bottle of it.  Then, slowly it got better again.  This is my magic pill that is what what my body seems to want.  I have a prior blog on that supplement (which is also used to help with constipation), which you can find here:  https://melissagpfight.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/omega-3-for-constipation/

 

What are the triggers?  What can we do about it?  I hope to answer that, below.   Keep in mind that this is general hair loss.  I am not talking about any medical condition or genetic premature balding.   Below is simply targeting factors that can cause thinning. 

 

Hair Loss Triggers

  • Hormonal factors – pregnancy, childbirth, discontinuation of birth control pills or the onset of menopause.
  • Thyroid problems – Thyroid gland helps regulate hormones.
  • Medications For–  Cancer, Arthritis,Depression,High Blood Pressure and Birth Control.
  • Stress (Physical or Mental) – Fever, Chronic Illness and Relationship Problems.
  • Medical Conditions – inflammatory bowel disease and autoimmune diseases.
  • Dietary Changes – Severe protein, fatty acid and caloric restriction.

 

Help For Hair Loss

  • Iron – Spinach
  • Zinc – Oyster, Crab, Dark Chocolate and Peanuts
  • Vitamin D – Greek Yogurt (as well as B5 for follicle help)
  • Fatty Acids – tuna, walnuts and flaxseed
  • Biotin – egg yolk and cheese
  • Magnesium – Halibut 
  • Vitamin A – Carrots

 

If you are like me, I am not getting enough of the vitamins needed to even help with hair loss through food alone.  I typically only consume 1 small meal of real food a day.  The rest is either soup or smoothie for my daily intake.  

You may want to have blood work done (if you have not already) to see where exactly your vitamin and mineral levels are.  Then go from there.  If you are deficient in something, look to see what foods are high in that amount or if the deficiency is really bad, you may need a supplement.  Here is a great web site to match foods with vitamins:  http://www.healthaliciousness.com/most-nutritious-foods-lists.php

Should you need a supplement, I suggest that you look for a liquid form, as it is easier to digest.  If you can’t find one, then the gel caps are fairly good. 

 

Links:

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. magnificent points altogether, you simply gained a new
    reader. What may you recommend about your put up that
    you made a few days ago? Any certain?

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the nice comment, which I just found today in my Spam Folder 😦 Now I am not sure what your question was regarding. If you still have it, please let me know and I will be happy to address it.

    Reply

  3. It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • Thank you. As long as I keep taking the Omega 3-6-9 (quality kind), I am doing fine with the hair loss. It is coming back in. When I get sick, I don’t take it and the process starts all over again.

      Reply

  4. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m
    planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Reply

    • This is WordPress. I have used Blogger. With WordPress you can get more of a Web page look. With Blogger you can customize the layout more (for free-WordPress charges for some backgrounds). Hope that helps. Wasn’t sure when you said “unique”, what your overall blog goal was.

      Reply

  5. hello there and thank you for your information – I have
    definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the web site many times
    previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading
    instances times will very frequently affect your
    placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Reply

  6. Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

